Ragged fringe of decent society *

“Societas honestae, limbus pannuceus”

The first official meeting of the Moto Guzzi Owners Association of NSW was held by a waterhole on a small property at Buckety in the hills outside Gosford on a particularly hot day in February 1980, following the inaugural run by the fledgling club.

A working committee was duly elected and was subsequently ratified at MGOA’s first Annual General Meeting, which took place on 20 May 1980 at the Ashfield RSL Youth Club Hall. A formal constitution was adopted by the 29 founding members, some of whom are members of the club today.

With about 200 members, MGOA is not a large club but is noted for the enthusiasm and friendliness of its members. As followers of this noble marque of Italian motorcycle, our members show a great deal of mutual support when it comes to technical or other idiosyncrasies of the breed.

Members meet on the second Tuesday of each month at the Friend in Hand Hotel, located at 58 Cowper Street, Glebe. There is plenty of bike parking out the front and meals are available from 6pm. The general meeting commences upstairs at 8:00pm.

The club holds regular rides, ranging from day rides to weekends away. Other events held by the club include pub runs, auction days and a very special weekend ride in the lead up to Christmas. The club’s website keeps members informed of what’s on, along with email updates and reminders.

MGOA’s most important fixture is the Ragged Fringe Rally, which the club hosts every September. The club also attends rallies hosted by other clubs, such as the ‘Ruptured Budgie Rally’ (Moto Guzzi Club of Queensland) and the Spaghetti Rally (Moto Guzzi Club of Victoria).

* As Moto Guzzi owners were once described in an Australian motorcycle periodical

Executive Committee

President – Garth Davies
Public Officer – Jonathan Kelly
Treasurer – Ross McGlade
Vice President – Paul Harrison
Club Plate Registrar – Lance Nichols
Rally Coordinator – Paul Wilson
New Members Representative – Steve Eagles
Webmaster – Gregg Jones
Social Media Officer – Joy Chapman
Events Coordinator – Steve McDermott
Club Officers – Brett Rosenthal, Bruce Hollows and Chris Armstrong